Skip to content
Tuesday, July 10, 2007 / Ishan

Do we really need micro-blogging

The recent rise in popularity of Twitter has left me in a confused state. All of a sudden all my geek friends are on twitter and talking about their tweets. It’s a very basic concept of where one person writes a few sentence about what he or she is doing at the moment. It could reflect the mood they are in, it could be an update on their project work, random though or just about anything.

I really don’t know if we need this kind of service, obviously it’s a new fancy tool but then most of the IM’s cater this user need. I usually leave a status message on my IM so that people know what I am upto and most of my friends do the same. I really don’t need to know what they have eaten for breakfast and guess what, if I really need to know I can ask them via e-mail on leaving an IM.

With AJAX becoming paltform of Web 2.0 things are changing fast, we are getting used to new paradigms of social interaction. The remote sharing of personal data among a non peer group section with common interest has become backbone for web revenue model. Facebook and YouTube certainly have changed the dynamics, but they haven’t re-invented the wheel, they have just made it easier to put on the cars.

I sincerely wish the entrpreneurs behind Web 2.0 movement focuss on building the basics first than going for new gimmick to catch attention. How can we forget dot com boom, when everyone thought they could sell everything on the net. Same for Web 2.0, just having cool AJAX tools on website won’t make it cool in the long run.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. shannonglenn8320 / Apr 8 2016 3:13 pm

    Alla voce “corsa”, sul dizionario, c’u00e8 la mia foto, di schiena, mentre scappo.nNon fa per me.https://ameo.link/shannonglenn832008180

Leave a Reply

