Skip to content
Monday, August 21, 2006 / Ishan

The Great Story Presenters

In the middle of 80’s when my parents got us VCR it was like a big thing. I used to watch movies non-stop, all kinds of movies from the shallow 80’s pop types, to western to old black and white classics. I could watch movies for like 10 hours non stop. Quality was never an issue, quantity was, since it was summer and I had lots of people who influenced the type of movie we watched I had to imminently suffer an overdose. I felt I have become a magnetic duct tape and all those meaningless shots meanders looplessly over me.

That was the 80’s growing up in the 90s it changed with so many vivid influences I formed this hidden tendency to filter and got picky . In my appreciations I became more demanding and less forgiving. With Turner Classic Movies I started exploring cinematic art. Introduction to classic Hollywood school would only make things worse. My grasp of English language was ordinary yet I could make connections with progression on screen. So cinema was just not an entertainment, it was a necessity however it could not dictate my fantasy and imagination but it formed a nice window into the unknown.

For me certain individuals and their form of story telling leaves me inspired. A Director is like a conductor in orchestra, he ensure that big puzzles are falling in the right places and between a start and an end there is a journey. After watching so many movies I don’t expect to hear stories, I think there’s only so many stories you can read or see. I expect a point is to be communicated across. Directos achieve it in different manner. Some are good at telling a simple story, some are good at presenting a picture, some are known for their ability to make us travel without moving. Here, I look back at some people who have done that for me.

ROBERT MULLIGAN I could not help being moved after watching To Kill A Mockingbird, the way whole story was crafted within the events, the way the tension was communicated across, was extra ordinarily done. I could relate to character so much that at times I felt for my own security. Mulligan’s ability to bring a timid intensity to scene after scene is an incredible craft which could only be matched by Hitchcock.

CHRISTOPHER NOLAN He is the modern great. Nolan’s ability to build character with the pace of the story is par excellence. He took Batman’s comic book super powers and greatness so we can get a Hero. I am still amazed how Nolan’s movies character grow as story grows, it’s a fine balance that only a few could achieve

MILOS FORMAN Few Directors could capture such complex emotions as jealousy in a subtle manner as Forman did in Amadeus. He brought the dark side of Jack Nicholson to limelight and made us believe that our greatest beyond is within ourselves.

PETER WEIR In Master and Commander he takes us on a journey started in a very different world. His ability to present a story as narration without voice over make this Aussie a modern genius. He crafted heroes in ordinary men and their achievements documented so as we thrived to get in them characters.

STEVEN SPIELBERG Now what can I say about this Man. The Man who brought credibility to commercial cinema, his grandiose picturisation, sharp and realistic detailing and uber tight series of screen makes him perhaps one of the greatest movie directors of all time. No one can satisfy kids, adults, critics at the same. His story telling is neither indulgent nor simple, neither bland nor over the top.

MARTIN SCORSESE For me invented the urban underground. He was the first black film maker for me. India’s own RGV has MS written all over him when he tries to depict a realistic gore in his next door yet heroic characters. Scorsese’s legendary collaboration with Robert De Nero invented a blue print for all sorts of action thrillers in contemporary pop culture. New York won’t be New York for international movie lovers without MS

INGMAR BERGMAN Bergman showed the modern world that CGI could be a useless tool in ancient times, his inventive and mind blowing camera work can put modern day sci-fi movies to shame, yet he never made a sci-fi movie. Bergman’s complex characterization and maverick scenes stood him out from his age. He wrote the book of cinematography for me which was enhanced by Wim Wenders. I have never seen a director whose scenes could make me see a dream.

DAVID LYNCH I don’t know what hit me after watching Mullholand Drive, I never knew a movie could challenge my senses in this way. I was exhausted and I was choking by the brilliance that this man achieved. Was it a dream in story on story in dream, I haven’t figured out and I am sure you haven’t either. He is Kubrick and Hitchcock in one.

WODDY ALLEN O God, I love this freak. I could never relate to his movies until I came into Woody’s world. I thought he was a waste of space but once I was in his side of things, I thought every moment of my life was written by Woody Allen. His brand of humor is the tragedy of my life.

STANLEY KUBRICK Everytime I watch K’s movies I think he is up there laughing at me, insulting my lack of intelligence. He was a genius in using cinematic art as expression. His agenda’s had propaganda. His meanings were meaningless and beyond. His complexities were challenging, his sensory vision was ahead of times. His level of understanding was conceptualized in his movies. His simplicity was so simple that it appeared the most complex thing in the universe. For me, K could take the white out of blackest black.

Blogged with Flock

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. raja / Apr 11 2007 6:02 pm

    dude!!! SWEET MOSES!!!!!!!
    boy rae y hi-tech or wat!!!
    i mean having tons of knowledge about life n where we are all heading is one thing…..but KNOWING THE GOD DAMN COMP, PHONE, FIREFOX….i mean cmon wid the fire fox……
    its one thing being intelligent but super intelligent!!!….its like U DEF ARE IN A LEAGUE OF UR OWN!!!
    i had like to see another one of ur blogs which is on the more philosphical front??!!!
    wat say!

  2. raja / Apr 11 2007 6:05 pm

    OHH N THERE SI MORE
    DIN C AL DAT
    READ ITSOME OTHER TIME
    CHEERS
    RAJA

  3. ankita / Apr 14 2008 11:07 pm

    “His brand of humor is the tragedy of my life.”
    thats wonderful copy!!!!

    You just made me feel immensely illiterate there…

Leave a Reply

